10 thoughts on “Two is better than one

  1. Thanks for the track back πŸ™‚

    Double knitting is fantastic, and really fun once you get going with it! A word of warning though – knit stitches are not square so if you use a square chart like in the picture, it will come out elongated. I use this program: http://www.iktsoft.net/kgchart-en/kgchart/ because it allows you to put in rectangular stitches. It’s intended for cross stitch but works wonderfully for knitting. Best thing to do is work up a guage swatch – I’d say do a few rows of the chart you have as that will give you a more accurate guage. Then you can figure out your stitches / rows per inch and enter that into the chart program to get an appropriately scaled chart….

    • Thanks for the tip! I’m really enjoying it immensely so far. πŸ™‚

      I know that pretty much any knitted pattern turns out elongated. However, I’ve also found that this sometimes isn’t very noticeable in some designs, and can even depend on the yarn and tightness of your stitches.

      The most important parts for me here are:
      – I learn to double knit
      – I make mistakes in this test patch so I can learn from it
      – I just have fun doing this even if the design comes out a little wonky πŸ˜‰

      I’ll definitely look into that program, though it seems there’s no free version available at the moment (only a 30 day trial). I don’t have that kind of money to spare. 😦

  2. This is kind of amazing – I have a new blog, featuring a growing bunch of double knit scarves. Wanting to meet some fellow knitters, I searched WordPress for Knitting, and there was your post, hot off the press, so to speak. Welcome to the world of double knitting! Isn’t it fun?
    I’ll be excited to see how your shield comes out. πŸ™‚
    Oh, and please feel free to check out my projects, if you want. I’d love to hear your opinion.

    • That is awesome! πŸ˜€ I started knitting this year after spring, and focused on some big projects (you’ll find my most recent ones in my blog here).

      Double knitting IS fun!! It took me a few watches of the video to understand what was happening with the yarn and why my first attempt didn’t turn out so well, but now I’m 5 rows in on this logo project and I’m having trouble holding back! πŸ˜‰

      How do you make the patterns for your scarves? I use square blocks to equal pixels of a design (the actual logo is kind of small: http://www.rprepository.com/imgs/logo.png ) but I’m fearing the design may elongate at some point. It doesn’t look like it will yet, but I’m still only 5 rows in.

      I love your projects, and they look so nice! Will you share your wisdom with me? πŸ˜‰

      • Happy to share! I use Microsoft Excel – I just changed the basic grid from squares to squashy sort of rectangles, and I color the squares with the fill/paint stuff (from the Formatting Toolbar) in the appropriate colors. I use grid lines (also from Formatting Toolbar), the heavy ones, to mark off every ten columns and every ten rows and I number across the bottom and up the sides (you can start numbering 1, 2, 3, then highlight all three cells, grab the little box in the bottom corner and drag straight up or down or from one side to the other and Excel will auto fill the rest of the numbers in sequence).
        I do lots of changing, erasing, starting over. Sometimes the design is too wide, too weird, too stupid looking, whatever. I just keep reworking it, moving things around, blending, until I like it.
        I actually knit straight from that Excel spreadsheet, too: I have the laptop open beside me, highlight the row I am on, finish knitting it, move the highlight up to the next row, and keep knitting. Works well for me, and since I already have the Microsoft Suite on my computer, didn’t cost me anything.
        Hope that helps! πŸ™‚

        • That is really smart!

          I think I’m going to get my boyfriend to convert designs into excel for me. πŸ˜‰ I hope that my current design will work out okay with the square grid he used, otherwise I’ll have to tinker again with that!

Leave a Reply

