Bread rolls rising!

I’ve learned a lot since my first try in baking bread yesterday. I’m a fast learner with this type of stuff! Today I decided to make rolls from the dough. I began with adding warmer water than I did yesterday, somewhere between 30-35 degrees C instead of the 25 degrees from before. Added a tbs of sunflower oil and mixed it up with my electric mixer using dough hooks.

Once the dough was coming off the bottom of the bowl I took it out and kneaded it by hand for another half a minute or so. Sprinkled the bowl with some plain flour, put the dough back in, sprinkled that with flour too and then covered it with a kitchen towel. I’m not sure why people insist on using a different bowl for their dough, this works just as well for me and creates less mess!

Yesterday I let the dough rest on my kitchen counter but it really didn’t turn out so well. My kitchen is too drafty. So after scouring Google for tips and tricks, today I turned on my oven’s light and put the covered bowl in the oven. The light bulb gets just warm enough to bring the oven to just above room temperature and creates the perfect environment for the dough to rise in!

An hour later the dough had risen and settled in the bowl. I took it out and roughly divided it into four buns which I placed on my baking sheet covered with baking paper. Sprinkled them with some flour again, covered with the towel and shoved them into the oven.

20140816_124550[1]

They look kind of rugged, don’t they? But I think that’s the charm of homemade baked goods. They have their own personality. As my boyfriend so eloquently put it when he saw my first bread…

“Dude that looks like the bread they ate in biblical times and shit.

So metal.”

I left them in there for an hour and when I took them out, they’d almost doubled in size. Hallelujah!

20140816_135046[2]

I could tell that the oven light is in the back though. The back two buns closest to the light had become larger than the front buns, so I turned the sheet around and put everything back in for another 30 minutes. They didn’t rise that much more so I just turned on the oven to preheat it to the right temperature while they rest on the kitchen counter. I made some awkward attempts to score the buns, but I really lack a properly thin, sharp knife or razor to do the job, so the results are… uhm… charming?

20140816_142024[1]

Well, I suppose that works! The oven should be fully prepped in about 20-25 minutes. The rolls are light and fluffy to the touch and I expect they’ll turn out much better than the previous bread. I’m estimating they’ll need to bake for 15 minutes at 200C, but I may bake them longer to make them crispier than the first loaf. I love a crispy crust.

2 thoughts on “Bread rolls rising!

  1. Pingback: BUNS! | Some Daft Thoughts

  2. Pingback: Putting out the fires of lack and want with Passion and Attitude

Leave a Reply

