That’s a bummer.

Fasted for a minimum of 9 hours. Glucose level at 11 mmol/l. I tested again 2 minutes later and it’s at 11.8. Now there’s a possibility the device may be malfunctioning, or my enthusiasm from yesterday simply stemmed from the fact I hadn’t really eaten much prior to my test. Who knows? Perhaps it’s the gliclazide that’s lowering my levels during the day, as I only take 1 pill in the morning and it wears off eventually.

Next Friday I have another fingerprick test at the office. I’ll bring my meter and test with it to compare results with their device. I did test from different fingertips and who knows, my technique may be wrong?

Either way this kind of put a damper on things for me. I was excited at having the meds work, and if this reading is accurate they don’t. Argh! This is going to drive me up the wall. I have to hold back from checking my levels obsessively throughout the day now.

I think it’s time for some mother-effing breakfast. Damnit.

Edit: After poking around a little I noticed meters can have a 10-20% discrepancy, which would explain the difference in the readings. Slightly put at ease but still taking the damn thing with me on my next test.

Leave a Reply

