Congratulations US!

gay_pride_rainbow-2555

Words can’t express how happy I am that many of my friends have finally received the equality they so long deserved.

I consider myself very fortunate to have been born in the Netherlands, one of the more progressive countries towards the LGBT community, and to have been born in the family that I did. It was never an issue to be with someone of the same sex; my sister just showed up one day with a girlfriend and besides the initial surprise, nobody really cared. Recently I got an email in my inbox from a Dutch movement that said “Imagine if your love was a criminal offense – being gay is a crime in over 76 countries.” – the fact that being gay, or marrying a gay person, is a crime and unusual elsewhere has become a completely alien concept to us.

I hope that this attitude will be the US norm in the near future, as well. We are equal and we do all deserve equal rights, no matter where we are in the world. There are still a lot of things that are wrong and need to be fixed, but I’m determined to not let that be a reason to suspend celebration for a victory this enormous.

The US did something great, and I’m proud and happy!

Leave a Reply

