I’m not a hooker.

I was reminded of this after listening to the Knitter Nerd’s Podcast yesterday. It really just isn’t for me. I tried multiple times to get into it, but it genuinely just frustrates me. I can do some basic crocheting for decorative purposes on knitted garments, but that’s where it ends. I don’t really know why I can’t make it work. With knitting it’s just much easier for me to pull the yarn through the loop, and despite the different techniques and applying plenty of tips from crocheters, it never feels comfortable.

To be fair, I struggled with knitting too, but I think the biggest difference is that the fabric crochet creates doesn’t appeal to me as much. I don’t like the way crocheted plushies feel either, they’re incredibly stiff and not very soft to the touch, even if they look super nice and adorable. I think that the appeal knitting had to me isn’t there for me in crocheting. Even when things got hard I enjoyed every moment of it because the outcome was a fabric I really enjoyed. It felt more practical and friendlier towards garments.

Crochet has always been more on the decorative side than practical in my experience. Yes, you can crochet sweaters and cardigans and scarves… But unless you’re making an open, lacy-like fabric to create a nice drape, I can’t help but find the fabric unappealing to the touch and wear. It can be amazing for summer garments, but I’m not a fan of clothing that require you to wear clothing beneath because otherwise you’re going to be able to count the flowers on your bra, or it’s simply too cold. (That seems to be the main theme in crocheted sweater patterns from what I’ve seen.)

To each their own though! Every craft has its pros and cons, and plenty of them are very personal. I just did my best giving it a shot and being honest with myself. I know it’s not for me, but I’ll cheer on everyone who loves doing it. 🙂

3 thoughts on “I’m not a hooker.

  1. “Crochet has always been more on the decorative side than practical in my experience.” – very true, and why I don’t crochet as much as I knit. The material is pretty but not as useful.

    • Indeed! My friend crocheted herself a vest, but it’s very lacy so it’s more suitable for summer evenings than cold winter nights. I see that a lot with crocheted wearables and I think knitting is warmer in that area. 😛

Leave a Reply

