I need some opinions!

I know I’ve been blogging a lot lately and I hope you’re not tired of me yet! I finished the chart for my slouchy ombre hat already (no, my needles didn’t catch on fire lol) but I’m running into a small problem.

I had to adjust the CO for my size. The pattern is for a 22″ head circumference, and mine is at least 23.5″. So I added 4 extra stitches so I could repeat the chart one extra time in everyย row to make up for the difference, which has worked out well cause it fits fine! My problem is that my head is just big. I want this hat to be slouchy, but I know that if I start the decreases now, it probably won’t be unless I wear it uncomfortably far back on my head. My head shape is not made for that fashion statement.

20151206_003707

168001_medium2So this is where I’m at. I’ve worked the pattern exactly as it tells me (length-wise) and this is the end of the chart. I would begin decreases now, but I’m strongly considering working several extra rows in the cream color. Should I? How many would be good? I’m thinking 5-10, perhaps more.

The original picture included with the pattern (on the right here) shows that the decreases don’t add much more length to the hat, which is why this makes me unhappy. I’ve read comments complaining the hat was way too big for them and I can’t help but feel their gauge was either off or they have tiny heads.

I’ve never knit a slouchy hat before though, and when I look at this hat I just can’t see it being slouchy unless your head is small. :/ I think that’s why I’m so insecure, I don’t know when it would be too long and go from slouchy to ridiculous. If anyone has pointers on this, I would appreciate it immensely!

That said, I’m super duper stoked about my stranding. My tension isn’t 100% because it’s my first time working with two strands at the same time (one in the left hand, one in the right hand) but I took care to knit loose. I desperately wanted to avoid puckering and I think I succeeded!

20151206_003817

I contemplated on whether or not to turn the work inside out based on tips people have given others, but it really wasn’t necessary in the long run. My secret? I watched a crapton of YouTube videos on stranding before doing it. Plus I’m advanced enough with my knitting to eyeball certain things. (Which makes my panic over how long a slouchy hat should be kind of hilarious!)

My biggest accomplishment? Being able to knit at my near regular speed with two separate yarns, using a throwing method I never used before. I was the “hold, wrap, pull through and drop” kind of gal when I first started knitting. At some point I held on to the yarn but I never wrapped the yarn around my pinkie or otherwise worked comfortably. I essentially mirrored my continental hold for my right hand and it… worked. I’m amazed, and proud.

I really needed this accomplishment pick-me-up!

8 thoughts on “I need some opinions!

  1. the hat looks lovely so far! You might consider adding a lifeline now where you are at the end of the chart, and keep going for, as you say, a few rounds in cream. then, do the decreases as instructed, but don’t cut the yarn. try the hat on, if it isn’t right, it will be easy to rip back to the lifeline, and you will have nice neat live stitches to pick up and try something different.

  2. Watch out! Two handed knitting is addictive! You’ll start to use it to weave ends as you knit on single color garments too. No more weaving end after the fact!

    Looking at your pattern I would say don’t make the cream addition longer than the colored stitches after the ribbing at the beginning. Using that row count as a guide will keep your hat balanced. (The decreases will be balanced by the ribbing.) Can’t wait to see the finished product. Where did you get the pattern? I love it!

    • Hah! Man that’s a neat idea. I don’t really mind weaving though, it’s become almost a ritual to tidy up. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’ll have to give it a shot sometime!

      I tried the hat on at the end of the chart and showed it to a friend who confirmed with me that it’s way too short. (I’m a 6’1″ lady, so most conventional sizes don’t fit me lol.) Thank you for your input though! I think if I make another hat like this I’ll knit either the rib or the stockinette section just above the rib a little longer to balance this out.

      The pattern is free on Ravelry: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/the-easy-ombre-slouch-hat

      • Thanks for the link, and good luck making the hat grow. I’m in a family of normal heighted folk, with really big head diameters. I’ve had to frog a bunch of hats for being brain squishers.

Leave a Reply

