A spiritual thought

“The folklore among knitters is that everything handmade should have at least one mistake so an evil spirit will not become trapped in the maze of perfect stitches. A missed increase or decrease, a crooked seam, a place where the tension is uneven – the mistake is a crack left open to let in the light. The evil spirit I want to usher out of my knitting and my life is at once a spirit of laziness and of over-achieving. It’s that little voice in my head that says, I won’t even try this because it doesn’t come naturally to me and I won’t be very good at it.”

– Kyoko Mori, ‘Yarn’ (Source)

For as long as I can remember I’ve always been a perfectionist. Even as a child, things always had to be ‘just right’ or it wasn’t good enough. I think my biggest hurdle with knitting has been to let go of that perfectionism and accept that hand crafting is never, ever flawless. Even if others may produce works that seem flawless, I am 100% convinced there is at least one small mistake that only the crafter sees but is still there.

Whenever I help someone new to knitting with their (first) projects, I always try to impart this little bit of wisdom to them. The beauty of knitting lies not in a flawless piece, but in a flawed piece that represents who and what we are. It’s about the love for the craft, the journey you take and the fondness with which you bind off the last stitch. There will never be another item like the one you just made, not exactly, at least. Every flaw it carries is what makes it unique and precious to the recipient. Holding this idea dear to you will help you explore new techniques and try daunting new patterns and constructions without fearing that your finished object may not be ‘good enough’.

2 thoughts on “A spiritual thought

  1. That’s what I try to impart when teaching spinning….that as long as it’s holding together as a continuous strand, you are spinning yarn. It may be thick and thin, but beautiful to use in the right project, and almost impossible to repeat after years of practice.

Leave a Reply

