Illogical logistics

Shipping gifts around the world for the holidays has got to be my least favorite thing of the year. Not because I make and buy gifts, but because shipping is such a pain in the rear end.

I sent my boyfriend his sweater and socks on November 26th. The package arrived in the US on December 1st. From there on the package went on a roadtrip from Illinois to New York, then to South Dakota. It took a full two weeks for it to end up in the city where my boyfriend lives. Why? What could possibly warrant such a roundabout method of delivery? Illinois is closer to SD than NY is! Even I know that!

This long shipping time has been nerve wracking. I wrote the company I shipped it through in a panic and discovered that they hand over packages to USPS. Good to know for tracking future packages, cause their site updates better than the Dutch company’s.

Anyway, the 14th is their estimated delivery day. I really hope so! I can’t wait to see my man wearing the sweater!

In the meantime I’m resting in bed while the crockpot is making a delicious chicken stew for me. I have to do the dishes at some point, but for now I’ll share the recipe for those who are interested:

Ingredients:
2 celery stalks, cut bite sized
1 leek, cut in rings
1 small onion, chopped
1 can of diced tomatoes (400g)
1 tablespoon tomato paste
1.5 cup (325ml) vegetable or chicken broth
1 large sweet potato or 2 small ones
2 chicken breasts, no skin, no bones
Salt
Pepper
A sprinkle of dried thyme
1 or 2 bay leaves to taste
1/3cup (100ml) heavy cream

Instructions:
1. Mix the broth, diced tomatoes (the whole can with liquids) and tomato paste in the slowcooker. Add some salt, pepper and thyme. Stir well.

2. Chop all the vegetables and wash thoroughly. Let them drain in a colander.

3. Peel and cut the sweet potato in cubes and add to the broth base.

4. Cut the chicken breasts in small pieces. You can cook them in some oil first if you want to. I added them raw to the broth base at this point.

5. Add the bay leaf/leaves and push them into the broth.

6. Add the onions first, then cover everything with the leek and celery.

7. Cook on high for 4 hours or on low for 8. the leek and celery will collapse throughout the cooking process so you may need to stir halfway through to mix it up. (But only once!)

8. Half an hour (high) or one hour (low) before it’s done, stir in the heavy cream and let simmer until done.

This should serve a minimum of 3 people. Make sure to remove the bay leaves before serving. You can switch up the vegetables however you like, I don’t like carrots so they’re never part of my stew. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Illogical logistics

  1. I’ve been sitting and waiting on a package shipping from only about 75 miles away (i hadn’t realized this distribution center was quite so close) for about 6 days now, so your post is both timely and relatable for me today.

Leave a Reply

