Small setback

I knew the sweater was progressing too well and it was only a matter of time before I ran into a problem. As I was working the first sleeve last night, it dawned on me that it was a very baggy and loose sleeve. The pattern says to decrease 2 stitches every inch or so as  you work the sleeve, which I faithfully did. k2tog, k to last 2 sts, ssk every 6 rows. It worked out fine for my boyfriend’s sweater but my proportions don’t work out so well, I think. (That or I cast on too many stitches for the armpit and created too large of a shoulder.)


2016-01-04 (2)2016-01-04 (3)

In these pictures I’m only about 3 inches away from casting off the entire sleeve, of which 2 will be ribbed without decreases. It won’t do, so I ran a smaller size needles through the row where I first decreased and I will be frogging the sleeve back to that row to start over. Rather than decrease every 6 rows, I will be decreasing every 3 rows until I hit about 32 stitches. That should make the fit better. I’ll be running a lifeline through the row I picked up in case that is also wrong and I need to try something else.

Worst case scenario I’ll have to remove the sleeve entirely and start over from the beginning at the shoulder, but it’s really not so bad! The yarn works up quickly enough that it’s only a day or two lost, rather than two months. 😛

7 thoughts on “Small setback

  1. Wow I definitely have a lot to learn! It amazes me how people can even work out where they went wrong and fix it! I’ve just about figured out how to pick up a dropped stitch. I cant wait to see how it turns out once you’ve sorted it, do you mind explaining what frogging is? I’m still very much a beginner and only know the basic knit and purl so far 🙂

    • Haha, don’t worry, you’ll get there! Just keep asking questions and evaluate/read your knitting so you can see and understand what’s going on and you’ll make leaps of progress. 🙂 I prefer focusing on understanding how garments and projects are constructed to learn!

      Frogging is ripping out your stitches to a certain point or until your whole project has been undone. I guess it sounds like ‘ribbing’, the sound frogs make, so people call it frogging. 🙂

      So in this case, you can see near the shoulder I have circular needles woven through the stitches, I sort of picked up that row so to speak. (This is where reading your knitting comes in handy, I picked those stitches up onto the needles just now, not when I started knitting the sleeve.) Then I’ll take the needles out of the end of the sleeve and just pull out the yarn until I hit the row of stitches that are on the other circulars near the shoulder. Tadaa! If all went well I can start knitting right away. If I missed a few stitches or picked up some on a different row I can fix that afterwards easily.

  2. I’m finishing up my first sweater and so afraid of these types of problems. There are so many hours invested at this point! I can’t wait to see how yours turns out. The color is so pretty.

Leave a Reply

