Knitting discipline

The weather has been very, very lovely here the past two days. According to the weather predictions, the 20C+ temperature will last until Thursday with a little bit of rain on Wednesday and Thursday. Then the temperatures drops back below the 15’s, yuck.

I grabbed the chance to do laundry and hang it up outside on my balcony. I’ve been living on my own for over 5 years now, and this is the first time I’ve had the ability to do this. My jeans, shirts and towels were dry so fast! One pair of jeans was almost bone dry after just an hour and a half, wowzers. I don’t own a dryer, and if it’s up to me I never will because I don’t have to, and the lovely air dried fresh laundry in my basket right now is all the motivation I need to hold on to that idea.

Of course I took some time to knit in the sun. I almost burned my arm after 10 minutes because I’m paler than a bucket of white paint. I don’t tan, I just burn, peel and go back to looking like the sun never hit me. The freckle galore on my face tells me there is a redhead gene in my dad’s side of the family. I’m looking for a cheap IKEA parasol to protect me.

The socks with the hand dyed yarn are coming along fantastically. I finished the heels and am working the legs now – the lace pattern is now on the front and back of the leg, with 6 stockinette stitches between the 3 repeats on each side. I was thinking of other ways to do it, but the stitch count wouldn’t let me. I can’t say I’m unhappy with the results though. 🙂

2016-05-07 (3)

The colors in this yarn really pop out in the bright sunlight, holy cow. You can also see the pattern, though it’s all scrunched up due to a lack of wearing/blocking. I am determined to finish this pair before I start with my summer cardigan. I still have many, many skeins of that lovely combo tweed yarn that got discontinued, which I bought in bulk from my LYS at a steep discount, and the fiber mix is just lovely enough to work with a loose, lace patterned open cardigan for those chilly summer nights. I want to avoid having twenty projects on my needles, so I need to step up my knitting game on these socks.

One thought on “Knitting discipline

Leave a Reply

