It’s been a 2 year struggle

The time has finally come: I’m going to be on insulin injections.

I had my appointment with my diabetes doctor today. After not eating or drinking in the 10 hours prior to the appointment, after biking to the doctor’s office on an empty stomach, my glucose level came in at a whopping 9.5 mmol/L. My A1C went up a little again from what it was last time. It was very evident to her that my insulin production is simply too low at this point. No surprise there, we both knew I’d get here eventually, being a type 1.5 diabetic. She offered me two options.

1. I could continue with my medication, up the glicladize dosage (the one that stimulates insulin production) and hope for the best.

2. I could get started on insulin, which means all supplies and medication gets covered by the insurance company. I’ll be able to monitor 5-6 times a day and have a long-term 24h working injection once a day to start with. In 6 weeks we’ll see how I’m doing, and if necessary we can move on to multiple injections a day to deal with the peaks during mealtimes.

I told her I was more interested in option 2, simply because I feel like I have no control over what my body does and can’t monitor it properly on medication alone (insurance doesn’t cover the glucometer strips if I’m not insulin dependent, which means I use the strips sparingly at best). Injections and frequent tests allow me to adjust my diet and exercise regime more accurately than a “pop a pill and hope for the best” approach.

I got a prescription for Toujeo which I picked up this morning on the way back home. I will be getting a new glucometer shortly. I have an appointment with my doctor on Friday morning, where she’ll show me how to use the injections. Then we’re going to do another blood test after 6 weeks to see how my body’s adjusted to the insulin and go from there.

It’s very exciting and a little scary. I don’t mind needles, but it’s all very new and very life changing! I am very grateful I had two years to adjust to the idea that this day would come. I’m grateful that I was able to spend two years getting things under moderate control on medication. Even better, I’m otherwise still healthy and doing well without diabetic complications, and I hope that a tighter control on my condition will make that last even longer.

Here’s to a new chapter in my life, hopefully a positive one!

Leave a Reply

