When we slip

Oh boy. I’ll start out with the good news: my friend sent me his used smartphone so that I can replace my dying one (and also play Pokemon GO!, we’re both first generation players who never stopped playing 🙂 ). He included cards of some of my favorite Pokemon with it! The US won’t allow batteries being sent out through the mail in phones, so he had to send it without. I ordered a new battery which should be here first thing tomorrow.

6AQRXkE

The bad news: my blood glucose control has been total and utter shit today. Cravings and random hunger pangs, a bag of chips (or crisps for the non-American folks out there), a bag of Dolly Mix and fast food elevated my values all day above 10. Boo Sanne. Booo!! Right now I’m miraculously low at 6.4 which I don’t understand, except maybe it’s thanks to the extra dose of gliclazide after dinner, and having a both carb rich and greasy dinner. I might spike during sleep again. I have a killer headache and foggy brain right now though. Not sure if it’s from riding the highs all day, or because I’m super tired (maybe from riding the damn highs?).

As I’m a type LADA with a 50/50 treatment plan (oral meds + basal insulin – bolus) a lot of the fancy diabetes tracking apps and sheets are either much too detailed for my regime, or don’t allow me to enter my basal units and meds as they’re too simplistic. I have an app on my phone installed that lets me be a bit more flexible about it, although the features I really want (like pretty PDF and XLS reports for a nive, detailed overview) are locked into a premium version that costs €28 a year or so. Money which I unfortunately don’t have. Boo….

I slipped up today, no use in crying over that. I was weak, I fell, tomorrow I get the fuck back up and eat properly as much as my supplies allow until I get next week’s grocery money on Monday. No dolly mix or chips, I’ll go for a nice bike ride if the weather isn’t going to roast me and I’ll focus on chores. I have peaches for those between meals snacks and a cucumber and I will eat them before they go bad. I have 6g carb crackers that pair well with a slice of Gouda and some salted cucumber slices. I have oatmeal and milk for a nice warm bowl of cinnamon oats. Plenty of options to have filling meals!

I will be meticulous about logging my meals at the very least even if I don’t test my values. I want to preserve my supplies for as much as possible until halfway through October.

2 thoughts on “When we slip

    • Thanks for the heads up! I have a prepaid sim card, plans are too expensive for me, so I rely on wifi hotspots as prepaid data is too expensive. I checked out some locations near me today, and all have wifi access from the surrounding houses. 🙂 As I have mobile data disabled I don’t have to worry about that, but I appreciate the warning a lot!

Leave a Reply

